Cyprus Bans Arrivals from 8 African Countries Over COVID Variant

November 28, 2021

NICOSIA – While Greece is only setting travel restrictions, Cyprus has for now banned most arrivals from eight African countries over fears of a new COVID-19 variant, dubbed both Botswana and Omicron, as the island is still struggling with the pandemic.

They are South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, and Malawi, affecting those who had been there or traveled through in the previous 14 days before Nov. 28.

The ban does not apply to Cypriot, European Union nationals, from Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein,  Switzerland, or permanent Cyprus residents, but who must show a negative 72 hour PCR test and are tested again upon arrival.

They will also have to quarantine in specially-designated hotels for a 10-day period, the Health Ministry said. So far, there haven’t been any cases of the variants found on the island, said Reuters.


NICOSIA - After dismissing complaints from rival parties about an alleged cover-up in the case of a black spy van in 2019, Cypriot authorities confiscated it as a spyware and phonetap scandal in Greece renewed attention about surveillance.

Top Stories


A pregnant woman was driving in the HOV lane near Dallas.

General News

FALMOUTH, MA – The police in Falmouth have identified the victim in an accident involving a car plunging into the ocean on February 20, NBC10 Boston reported.

General News

NEW YORK – Meropi Kyriacou, the new Principal of The Cathedral School in Manhattan, was honored as The National Herald’s Educator of the Year.


Greek-American Cornell Student Rescues Man on Subway Tracks in the Bronx

NEW YORK – Greek-American Cornell University senior Bryce Demopoulos rescued a man who had fallen on the subway tracks at the Third Avenue-138 Street station on the No.

Enter your email address to subscribe

Provide your email address to subscribe. For e.g. abc@xyz.com

You may unsubscribe at any time using the link in our newsletter.