AHEPA District 6 Awarded Its Annual Scholarships Online on Jan. 17

NEW YORK – AHEPA Empire State District Six (ESD6) held its 2020 Scholarship Award Ceremony on January 17 in an online event due to the pandemic. The event was organized by the District 6 Perpetual Scholarship Program Committee, led by Committee President and Director of Education Mike Papaphotes, also a Past District Governor, who gave the welcoming remarks.

Fr. John Vlahos, presiding priest of St. Paraskevi Church in Greenlawn, NY, and Rev. Dr. Christos Christakis, presiding priest of Annunciation Church in Buffalo, NY, offered the prayers.

Past District Governor Demi Pamboukes, one of the sponsors of this year’s event, spoke about the history of the ESD6 Scholarship Foundation, and announced the scholarship winners. 

ESD6 Governor Louis Katsos, benefactor and sponsor, presented the Katsos Family Scholarship, in memory of John and Maria Katsos, to Athanasia Meimeteas, the 2020 Grand Prize Scholarship Winner.

Chris Gallis, sponsor of the Gallis Family Scholarship in memory of George and Andy Gallis, honored Nicholas Likos as the 2020 Gallis Family Scholarship Winner.

AHEPA Supreme Vice President Jimmy Kokotas, benefactor and sponsor of the Kokotas Family Scholarship, honored Steliani Vlahos as the 2020 Kokotas Family Scholarship Winner.

Peter Ragoussis honored Sophia Kapogiannis as the 2020 College/University Student Scholarship Winner, sponsored by Delphi Chapter 25, Hermes Chapter 186, and George Pappis.

Andreas Christou spoke as a former ESD6 Scholarship Award Winner and Past Supreme President of the Sons of Pericles and Andrew Zachariades as a member and Past Supreme President of AHEPA. The keynote speaker on "AHEPA and Education" was AHEPA Supreme Vice President Jimmy Kokotas.

AHEPA Chapter # 405 New Rochelle President Harry A. Fotiadis, told The National Herald, “It is a great pleasure to transmit the Greek ideals and the values of education, democracy, and responsibility as citizens! We honor the students who reflect the high ideals and are the future leaders.”

It should be noted that the members of the District 6 Perpetual Scholarship Program Committee are: President and Director of Education Mike Papaphotes, Vice President Peter Ragoussis, Secretary Demi Pamboukes, Treasurer Chris Gallis, Jimmy Demetriades, Harry Fotiadis, and Lifetime George Demopoulos.

The Empire State District 6 Officers are: District Governor Louis Katsos, Lt. Governor Dean Moskos, Secretary Chris Pappis, and Treasurer Peter Ragoussis.


BROOKLYN, NY – Commemorating both AHEPA Sunday and the feast day of Saints Constantine and Helen on May 21, Brooklyn AHEPA Chapter 41 presented a $10,000 donation to V.

Top Stories


A pregnant woman was driving in the HOV lane near Dallas.

General News

FALMOUTH, MA – The police in Falmouth have identified the victim in an accident involving a car plunging into the ocean on February 20, NBC10 Boston reported.


Enter your email address to subscribe

Provide your email address to subscribe. For e.g. [email protected]

You may unsubscribe at any time using the link in our newsletter.