AGAPW & ALLILONnet Event with Dr. Elisa Konofagou on Alzheimer’s, May 17

The National Herald

The AGAPW and ALLILONnet Symposium on Inspiring Women in STEM panelists- Vassiliki Karantza, MD; Anastasia Romanou, PhD; Pannie Trifillis, PhD – Moderator; Stella Kafka, PhD; Konstantinos Alexakos, PhD; Eliana Antoniou, PhD; and Stella Lymberis, MD. Photo by Kostas Bej

NEW YORK – The Association of Greek American Professional Women (AGAPW) and ALLILONnet, on Monday, May 17, 7 PM EDT, host the renowned scientist Dr. Elisa Konofagou in a presentation via Zoom on Therapeutic Ultrasound for Alzheimer’s and a fireside chat moderated by Dr. Anastasia Romanou.

Dr. Konofagou obtained her degree in chemical physics from Universite de Paris VI in 1992, her Masters in Biomedical Technology from Imperial College in London in 1993, and her PhD in Biomedical Technology from University of Houston, TX in 1999. From 1999-2003, she undertook her postdoctoral research at Harvard Medical School where she earned a lectureship position. In 2003, Dr. Konofagou was elected Associate Professor in BioMedical Technology in the School of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics and in the Department of Radiology at Columbia University. She has been appointed Professor in these positions since 2014 and is directing the Laboratory of Ultrasound and Elasticity Imaging. Her research focuses in the development of new ultrasound techniques for the elastic imaging and therapeutic applications on diseases such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s. She has published more than 230 research papers and has presented in more than 450 international conferences.

Register for the event online:

Zoom Meeting ID: 936 0690 0930    

Passcode: 113391

AGAPW also congratulated Eva Boyes of NYU and Anne Panos of Fairfield University, the well-deserving and inspiring 2021 awardees of the Katerina Navab Excellence Tuition Scholarship in Humanities and the Amalia Colombos Excellence Tuition Scholarship in STEM, respectively.

AGAPW thanks its distinguished scholarship sponsors, Dr. Aphrodite Navab and Katerina Navab, and Nicholas Colombos and Alexandra Colombos, for their generosity and support of AGAPW’s mission.