Pianist Panos Karan Live in Tokyo, Available for 24 Hours on August 19

TOKYO – Greek-born pianist Panos Karan performs live in Tokyo, Thursday, August 19, in a piano recital available online for 24 hours only beginning at 7 PM Tokyo/ 11 AM London / 6 AM New York time.

Karan invites everyone to join him on Asia’s greatest stage at the Tokyo Suntory Hall. He said via email: “As you probably already know, following the 2011 earthquake, tsunami and nuclear accident in Fukushima, I founded the Fukushima Youth Sinfonietta (FYS), and in aid of this orchestra, I will soon be performing a piano recital at the Main Hall of Tokyo Suntory Hall. Entitled ‘Encores’ and presented by international charity Keys of Change, this recital is aiming to raise funds and awareness of the orchestra’s activities in Fukushima.”

Karan continued: “The fate of this concert has long been uncertain, due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Originally planned as an orchestral concert for the FYS, and later re-planned as a solo recital, it can finally go ahead, as I was fortunate to be granted entry to Japan. However, many restrictions remain in place in Tokyo, and access to this concert for a live audience will be limited. I therefore ask you, my friends around the world, to support me and join me for this unique recital in Japan's capital, taking place less than a week after the end of the Olympics, in one of the greatest music venues in the world.”

The recital will be made available exclusively through every.org for 24 hours only starting August 19 at 7 PM Tokyo time/ 11 AM London / 6 AM New York. It should be noted that the piano recital will take place in Tokyo two days prior.

Register online now to support Keys of Change: https://www.every.org/keysofchange/event/live_in_tokyo.

The program for the event:

Rachmaninov: Preludes Op. 23 No. 2 and Op. 32 No. 12

Scriabin: Étude in D sharp minor, Op. 8 No. 12

Tchaikovsky/Pletnev: Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy and Andante Maestoso

Chopin: Études Op. 10 Nos. 11 and 12

Liszt: La Campanella

Rimsky-Korsakov/Cziffra: The Flight of the Bumblebee

Schumann/Liszt: Widmung

Hadjidakis Grande Sousta

Fazil Say: Black Earth

Panos Karan: Tōryanse (Japanese traditional)

Arturo Marquez: Danzón No. 2 (arr. Karan)

Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue


SACRAMENTO, Calif. — Disability rights activists and advocates for Britney Spears backed a California proposal Wednesday to provide more protections for those under court-ordered conservatorships, while promoting less-restrictive alternatives.

Top Stories


NEW YORK - Some 21 years after it was destroyed in the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks in the United States that brought down the Twin Towers in New York City, the new St Nicholas Greek Orthodox Church rising in its place is among the most eagerly awaited architectural openings of 2022.


STATEN ISLAND, NY – For yet another year, the community of Holy Trinity-St Nicholas in Staten Island honored couples celebrating 50+ years of marriage with a modest ceremony held at the church immediately following the Divine Liturgy on January 16.


NEW YORK – New research into Greek artifacts looted by the Nazis was highlighted in the New York Times on January 18 as “the topic of the Nazi role in antiquities looting is increasingly drawing attention, in part through the work of scholars who are peeling back the mysteries of what happened to the objects that were excavated or seized eight decades ago.


Pentagon Releases First Video of Botched Kabul Airstrike

WASHINGTON — The Pentagon has declassified and publicly released video footage of a US drone strike in Kabul that killed 10 civilians in the final hours of a chaotic American withdrawal that ended a 20-year war in Afghanistan.

Enter your email address to subscribe

Provide your email address to subscribe. For e.g. abc@xyz.com

You may unsubscribe at any time using the link in our newsletter.