Mitsotakis Jiggles Cabinet Makeup But Few Changes at Top (Video)

ATHENS – It wasn’t a bang as Greek Prime Minister and New Democracy leader Kyriakos Mitsotakis made few changes to his Cabinet – more had been expected – as the country gears up for another tough year economically and with COVID-19.

One of those however was a new government spokesman, Christos Tarantilis, who made the announcement of what was expected to be a reshuffle but saw few high cards being changed in the deck, most top ministers keeping their positions.

Among the key changes were the transfer of Kostis Hadzidakis from the Energy and Environment Ministry to be Minister of Labor and Social Affairs, replacing Yiannis Vroutsis with Member of Parliament Kostas Skrekas taking the labor job.

Makis Voridis was given the Interior Ministry portfolio, with former government spokesman Stelios Petsas becoming his deputy, while lawmaker Spilios Livanos takes over from Voridis at the Agriculture Ministry, said Kathimerini.

Panteion University AssociateProfessor and New Democracy MP Angelos Syrigos has been put in charge of tertiary education policy at the Education Ministry, which remains under Niki Kerameus.

Ministers of Finance Christos Staikouras, Investments and Development Adonis Georgiadis, Foreign Affairs Nikos Dendias, Citizens’ Protection Michalis Chrysochoidis, Defense Nikos Panagiotopoulos, Tourism Haris Theoharis, Health Vassilis Kikilias, Culture Lina Mendoni, Justice Kostas Tsiaras, Digital Governance Kyriakos Pierrakakis, Infrastructure Kostas A. Karamanlis, Shipping Yiannis Plakiotakis and Migration Notis Mitarakis are staying put.

The newspaper earlier speculated that Mitsotakis would move out technocrats and move in more parliament members to key spots but he opted for minor changes with names few in the public would recognize.

The new ministers and deputy ministers joining the government will be sworn in at the presidential mansion on Tuesday, separated into three groups as a protective measure against the spread of Covid-19.

President of the Hellenic Republic Katerina Sakellaropoulou will attend all three ceremonies, which will be held at 11:00, 11:45 and 12:30.

The new composition of the government is as follows:

Prime Minister: Kyriakos Mitsotakis

Vice President of the government: Panagiotis Pikrammenos

Finance Ministry

Minister: Christos Staikouras

Alternate Finance Minister for Fiscal Policy: Theodoros Skylakakis

Deputy Minister for Taxation Policy and Public Property: Apostolos Vesyropoulos

Deputy Minister for the Financial System: Giorgos Zavvos

Development and Investments Ministry

Minister: Adonis Georgiadis

Alternate Minister for Private Investment Issues: Nikos Papathanasis

Deputy Minister for Public Investments and the Partnership Contract for the Growth Framework: Yiannis Tsakiris

Deputy Minister for Research and Technology: Christos Dimas

Foreign Affairs Ministry

Minister: Nikos Dendias

Alternate Minister for European Affairs: Miltiadis Varvitsiotis

Deputy Minister for Economic Diplomacy and Openness: Kostas Fragogiannis

Deputy Minister for Greeks Abroad: Kostas Vlasis

Citizen Protection Ministry

Minister: Michalis Chrisochoidis

Deputy Minister for Anti-Crime Policy: Lefteris Economou

Deputy Minister for Civil Protection and Crisis Management: Nikos Hardalias

National Defence Ministry

Minister: Nikos Panagiotopoulos

Deputy Minister: Alkiviadis Stefanis

Education and Religions Ministry

Minister: Niki Kerameus

Deputy Minister for Primary and Secondary Education and Special Education: Zetta Makri

Deputy Minister for Higher Education Issues: Angelos Syrigos

Labour and Social Affairs Ministry

Minister: Kostis Hatzidakis

Deputy Minister for Social insurance Issues: Panagiotis Tsakloglou

Deputy Minister for Welfare and Social Solidarity Issues: Domna Michaelidou

Deputy Minister for Demographic Policy and Family: Maria Syreggela

Health Minister

Minister: Vassilis Kikilias

Alternate Minister for Health Services: Vassilis Kontozamanis

Deputy Minister for Mental health Issues: Zoi Rapti

Environment and Energy Ministry

Minister: Kostas Skrekas

Deputy Minister for Environmental Protection Issues: Giorgos Amyras

Deputy Minister for Spatial Planning and the Urban Environment: Nikos Tagaras

Culture and Sports Ministry

Minister: Lina Mendoni

Deputy Minister for Issues of Contemporary Culture: Nikolaos Giatromanolakis

Deputy Minister for Sports: Lefteris Avgenakis

Justice Ministry

Minister: Kostas Tsiaras

Deputy Minister for Issues of International Cooperation and Human Rights: Giorgios Kotsiras

Interior Ministry

Minister: Makis Voridis

Alternate Minister for Local Authority Issues: Stelios Petsas

Deputy Minister for Macedonia-Thrace Issues: Stavros Kalafatis

Digital Governance Ministry

Minister: Kyriakos Pierrakakis

Deputy Minister for Simplifying Procedures: Giorgos Georgantas

Deputy Minister for Special Digital Projects and the Land Cadastre: Giorgos Stylios

Infrastructure and Transport Ministry

Minister: Kostas Karamanlis

Deputy Minister for Transport Issues: Yiannis Kefalogiannis

Shipping and Island Policy Ministry

Minister: Yiannis Plakiotakis

Deputy Minister for Shipping Sector Issues: Kostas Katsafados

Rural Development and Foods Ministry

Minister: Spilios Livanos

Deputy Minister for the Common Agricultural Policy: Yiannis Economou

Deputy Minister for Fisheries Policy: Fotini arabatzi

Tourism Ministry

Minister: Haris Theoharis

Deputy Minister for Tourism Education and Special Forms of Tourism: Sofia Zacharaki

Migration and Asylum Ministry

Minister: Notis Mitarachi

Deputy Minister for Integration: Sofia Voultepsi

Minister of State: Giorgos Gerapetritis

Deputy Minister to the Prime Minister at the Minister of State: Thodoris Livanios

Deputy Minister to the Prime Minister for Coordinating the Government's Work: Akis Skertsos

Deputy Minister to the Prime Minister for Communication and Information Issues and Government Spokesperson: Christos Tarantilis

Alternate Government Spokesperson: Aristotelia Peloni

The following proposals were made:

Secretary of the Parliamentary Group: Yiannis Bougas

Parliamentary Spokesperson: Yiannis Vroutsis

Alterate Parliamentary Spokespersons: Christos Boukoros, Thanos Plevris



ATHENS - The Greek Foreign Affairs Ministry expressed "its deep regret" over the Russian government's decision on Monday to expel eight staff members of the Greek embassy and the consulate in Moscow as personae non gratae.

Top Stories

General News

FALMOUTH, MA – The police in Falmouth have identified the victim in an accident involving a car plunging into the ocean on February 20, NBC10 Boston reported.

General News

NEW YORK – Meropi Kyriacou, the new Principal of The Cathedral School in Manhattan, was honored as The National Herald’s Educator of the Year.

General News

PHILADELPHIA – The Federation of Hellenic Societies of Philadelphia and Greater Delaware Valley announced that the Evzones, the Presidential Guard of Greece will be participating in the Philadelphia Greek Independence Day Parade on March 20.


Mission…to Alonnisos, a TNH Documentary

O oceanic you sing and sail White on your body and yellow on your chimeneas For you're tired of the filthy waters of the harbors You who loved the distant Sporades You who lifted the tallest flags You who sail clear through the most dangerous caves Hail to you who let yourself be charmed by the sirens Hail to you for never having been afraid of the Symplegades (Andreas Empeirikos)   What traveler has not been fascinated by the Greek islands, drawn by the Sirens’ song of a traveler’s dreams? TNH and our video show ‘Mission’ marked the change of the season by transporting viewers into the heart of summer.

Enter your email address to subscribe

Provide your email address to subscribe. For e.g. abc@xyz.com

You may unsubscribe at any time using the link in our newsletter.