Maloney, House Committee Chairs Direct WH, Fed Agencies to Preserve Documents

November 11, 2020

WASHINGTON, DC – On November 10, Congresswoman Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY) led House Committee Chairs in sending letters directing the White House and more than 50 federal agencies within their jurisdictions to comply with federal record-keeping laws and preserve information responsive to congressional subpoenas and investigations.

“As the Trump Administration prepares for the transition of power to the new Biden Administration, we write to remind you that all Executive Office of the President employees and officials must comply with record preservation obligations set forth in federal law and preserve information relevant to congressional oversight,” the Chairs wrote to White House Counsel Pat Cipollone.

In the letters, the Chairs directed the Administration to preserve all records in accordance with the Presidential Records Act, the Federal Records Act, and related regulations, as well as all documents that are or may be potentially responsive to any congressional inquiry, request, investigation, or subpoena that was initiated, continued, or otherwise undertaken during the 116th Congress.

These preservation letters cover documents and electronic messages and metadata involving official business that were sent using both official and personal accounts or devices, including communications through text messaging, phone-based message applications, or encryption software.

“Over the last four years, the Administration obstructed numerous congressional investigations by refusing to provide responsive information,” the Chairs wrote in letters to agencies. “You are obligated to ensure that any information previously requested by Congress— and any other information that is required by law to be preserved— is saved and appropriately archived in a manner that is easily retrievable.”

Collectively, the letters were signed by:

Oversight and Reform Committee Chair Carolyn B. Maloney

Agriculture Committee Chair Collin Peterson

Appropriations Committee Chair Nita M. Lowey

Armed Services Committee Chair Adam Smith

Budget Committee Chair John Yarmuth

Committee on House Administration Chair Zoe Lofgren

Education and Labor Committee Chair Bobby Scott

Energy and Commerce Committee Chair Frank Pallone, Jr.

Financial Services Committee Chair Maxine Waters

Foreign Affairs Committee Chair Eliot Engel

Homeland Security Committee Chair Bennie G. Thompson

Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence Chair Adam B. Schiff

Judiciary Committee Chair Jerrold Nadler

Natural Resources Committee Chair Raúl M. Grijalva

Rules Committee Chair James P. McGovern

Science, Space, and Technology Committee Chair Eddie Bernice Johnson

Select Committee on the Climate Crisis Chair Kathy Castor

Small Business Committee Chair Nydia M. Velázquez

Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Chair Peter A. DeFazio

Veterans’ Affairs Committee Chair Mark Takano

Ways & Means Committee Chair Richard E. Neal.

The Committee Chairs thank Reps. Sean Casten and Tom Malinowski for their substantial contributions to this effort.

The letters are available online: https://oversight.house.gov/sites/democrats.oversight.house.gov/files/2020-11-10%20Cmte.%20Chairs%20to%20White%20House%20and%20Agencies.pdf.


ALBANY – New York State Senate Deputy Leader Michael Gianaris announced on June 2 that the Senate passed his legislation (S.

Top Stories


A pregnant woman was driving in the HOV lane near Dallas.

General News

FALMOUTH, MA – The police in Falmouth have identified the victim in an accident involving a car plunging into the ocean on February 20, NBC10 Boston reported.


Enter your email address to subscribe

Provide your email address to subscribe. For e.g. [email protected]

You may unsubscribe at any time using the link in our newsletter.