Leah Naomi Green Wins Walt Whitman Award for Debut Poet

March 25, 2019

NEW YORK (AP) — A debut poet from Greensboro, North Carolina, has received a prize named for one of the country’s greatest writers.

Leah Naomi Green won the Walt Whitman Award, the Academy of American Poets announced Monday. The award is given to emerging poets and comes with a $5,000 cash prize and a six-week, all-expenses-paid residency at the Civitella Ranieri Center in Umbria, Italy.

Graywolf Press will publish her first book, “More Extravagant Feast,” in April 2020. The academy will purchase thousands of copies and distribute them to members. Green teaches at Washington and Lee University and her work has been published in Tin House and the Southern Review.

Previous winners of the Whitman award, established in 1975, include Jenny Xie and Alberto Rios.


NEW YORK — James Burrows loves sitcoms, and he should.

Top Stories

General News

FALMOUTH, MA – The police in Falmouth have identified the victim in an accident involving a car plunging into the ocean on February 20, NBC10 Boston reported.

General News

NEW YORK – Meropi Kyriacou, the new Principal of The Cathedral School in Manhattan, was honored as The National Herald’s Educator of the Year.

General News

PHILADELPHIA – The Federation of Hellenic Societies of Philadelphia and Greater Delaware Valley announced that the Evzones, the Presidential Guard of Greece will be participating in the Philadelphia Greek Independence Day Parade on March 20.


Brothers, Basketball Focus of Antetokounmpo Family’s “Rise”

Giannis Antetokounmpo didn't watch this year's NBA Finals.

Enter your email address to subscribe

Provide your email address to subscribe. For e.g. abc@xyz.com

You may unsubscribe at any time using the link in our newsletter.