x

Cinema

LAGFF Presents Free Online Programs

LOS ANGELES – The Los Angeles Greek Film Festival (LAGFF) runs May 10-30 this year and along with the impressive line-up of films available for screening online, a series of free online programs is also available for film fans to enjoy.

While there are some geographical restrictions, the majority of the LAGFF programming is accessible to the world and all webinars are free for everyone, no matter where they happen to live.

The program team worked hard to select one of LAGFF’s largest yet lineups with 64 features, documentaries, shorts and animation works by Greek filmmakers worldwide. They are grouped in 7 thematic “collections.” With the $60 all-access pass, all films will immediately become available to you (some restrictions apply), individually or by category, however you’d like to watch them – streaming through May 30. You can also opt to get smaller packages for $6-$25. The animation collections and the unique webinars are free.

Filming in Greece: An Empirical Perspective is a free live online panel discussion taking place Thursday, May 20, 11 AM PDT/ 2 PM EDT/ 9 PM Greece, with Angelo Venetis, Iraklis Mavroides, Nikos Smpirilis, and Teta Apostolaki- an active team of Greek producers- discussing the new landscape of film production in Greece, opportunities and challenges that arise along with the country’s evolution into a Southern European film hub offering unique and diverse features. Boo Productions has produced several successful films, including Apples, and is now in development on two major television series. The discussion will be moderated by film director Dennis Iliadis.

Tailor Live Q&A, on Saturday, May 22, 10 AM PDT/ 1 PM EDT/ 8 PM Greece, with the film’s director Sonia Liza Kenterman. A Greek-German film director and writer, she was awarded an MA in Directing with distinction at the London Film School. She received a BA in Sociology at Panteion University and studied at the Art’s Theatre School for Drama at Stavrakos Film School in Greece. Her short film Nicoleta won 15 awards in 41 festivals. She was then selected by the Greek Film Centre to write and direct a short film, White Sheet. Tailor is her first feature film.

Braving Professionalism – a new approach to keeping film sets fun and safe is a free live online workshop on Saturday, May 22, 12 PM PDT/ 3 PM EDT/ 10 PM Greece. Can we be professional and respectful while keeping a playful spirit at the same time? This workshop by mediation professional and filmmaker Carina Rosanna Tāutu will demonstrate how we can navigate the high demand for an equitable work space by understanding how to build healthy boundaries, trust, and strong leadership skills. Utilizing Brene Brown’s Braving conflict resolution method, the workshop explores our options for establishing fearless and joyful film sets. The audience will be invited to share their stories and discuss possible solutions.

On Sunday, May 23, 11 AM PDT/ 2 PM EDT/ 9 PM Greece, the Man of God Q&A takes place, featuring a discussion with the film’s director and screenwriter, Yelena Popovic, producer Alexandros Potter, along with the cast, Aris Servetalis, Mickey Rourke, Christos Loulis, Karyofyllia Karabeti, of this most anticipated film of the year. Man of God won the Audience Award at the 43rd Moscow International Film Festival. Moderator for the event is the LA-based screenwriter, writer and producer Lia Bozonelis.

Register for the free events online: https://lagff.org/events-online-registration/

More information is available on the LAGFF website: https://lagff.org/.

RELATED

NEW YORK — Dale Dickey tends to get "those crusty roles," as she heard someone once call them.

Top Stories

Church

BOSTON – The Holy Synod of the Patriarchate of Alexandria in its recent meeting dealt with the ecclesiastical coup perpetrated by the Patriarchate of Moscow in its canonical jurisdiction, calling it an “immoral invasion and intrusion.

Church

NEW YORK - Some 21 years after it was destroyed in the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks in the United States that brought down the Twin Towers in New York City, the new St Nicholas Greek Orthodox Church rising in its place is among the most eagerly awaited architectural openings of 2022.

Events

STATEN ISLAND, NY – For yet another year, the community of Holy Trinity-St Nicholas in Staten Island honored couples celebrating 50+ years of marriage with a modest ceremony held at the church immediately following the Divine Liturgy on January 16.

Video

The National Herald’s Happenings of the Week by Eraklis Diamataris

The National Herald’s Happenings of the Week (Jan 15 – Jan 21) as have been reported at the print and digital editions of TNH and presented by the TNH Editor Eraklis Diamataris.

Enter your email address to subscribe

Provide your email address to subscribe. For e.g. abc@xyz.com

You may unsubscribe at any time using the link in our newsletter.