Greek Panel Picks 7 Eurovision Finalist Entry Hopeful Songs

ATHENS – Zealous fans can’t get enough of the kitschy, campy annual Eurovision contest and Greece hopes to get another winner in 2023 after a 70-person Audience Committee picked seven finalists.

Greece in 2021 and 2022 managed to get into the top 10 and the state-run ERT broadcaster used the panel to make a shortlist from which the entry will be selected but it’s being kept under tight wraps.

They are:
Konstantina Iosifidou — “We Are Young”
Melissa Mantzoukis — “Liar”
Victor Vernicos — “What They Say”
Monika — “I’m Proud”
Leon Of Athens — “Somewhere To Go”
Klavdia — “Holy Water”
Maria Maragou & Antonia Kaouri — “Shout Out”

The committee was picked from a draw of 3,000 applicants to take into account the various age groups that watch the contest that this year will be held in Liverpool instead of Ukraine – whose entry won early in 2022 – but can’t host because of Russia’s invasion.

Last winning in 2005 with Helen Paparizou’s hit My Number One, Greece had 10 out of 13 top 10 results from 2001-23, including third-place finishes for Antique in 2001 (with Paparizou as lead singer), Sakis Rouvas in 2004 and Greek-American Kalomira in 2008.

Greece didn’t get back into the top 10 from 2014-19, twice not even getting to the semi-final stage that’s televised – in 2016 and 2018 – but in 2021, Stefania finished 10th with Last Dance and Greek-Norwegian singer Amanda Tenfjord finished 8th in performing Die Together in 2022.


NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) — Journalist Joe Edwards, who chronicled country music and helped “Rocky Top” become a Tennessee state song during his four-decade Associated Press career, has died.

Top Stories


A pregnant woman was driving in the HOV lane near Dallas.

General News

FALMOUTH, MA – The police in Falmouth have identified the victim in an accident involving a car plunging into the ocean on February 20, NBC10 Boston reported.

General News

NEW YORK – Meropi Kyriacou, the new Principal of The Cathedral School in Manhattan, was honored as The National Herald’s Educator of the Year.


Enter your email address to subscribe

Provide your email address to subscribe. For e.g. [email protected]

You may unsubscribe at any time using the link in our newsletter.