Former Nobelist to Nominate Tsipras, Zaev for Next Nobel Peace Prize

December 18, 2018

Tunisian winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 2015, Wided Bouchamaoui, on Tuesday presented an initiative to nominate the prime ministers of Greece and FYROM, Alexis Tsipras and Zoran Zaev, respectively, for the next Nobel Peace Prize in recognition of their efforts for the signature of the landmark Prespes Agreement.

The presentation was made at an event held in a private university in Skopje, while SYRIZA MEP Stelios Kouloglou was among those that attended and spoke in support of the initiative, along with the rector of the private Skopje-based university FON, Nano Ruzin.

Kouloglou and Bouchamaoui are due to visit Athens on Wednesday to meet the Greek prime minister and announce the initiative.

Commenting on the news, Kouloglou said: “The proposal for the nomination of Alexis Tsipras for a Nobel Peace Prize is a great honour for Greece.” 


ATHENS - Greece’s economy is roaring back from a 2010-18 fiscal and austerity crisis - expected to grow another 2.

Top Stories


A pregnant woman was driving in the HOV lane near Dallas.

General News

NEW YORK – Meropi Kyriacou, the new Principal of The Cathedral School in Manhattan, was honored as The National Herald’s Educator of the Year.


After Rare Flash Flood Emergency, Florida Prepares for More Heavy Rainfall in Coming Days

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. (AP) — A tropical disturbance has brought a rare flash flood emergency to much of southern Florida as residents prepared to weather more heavy rainfall on Thursday and Friday.

ATHENS - Reacting to high food prices and disappointing showing in the European Parliament elections - 28.

LAUSANNE, Switzerland  — Despite the complication of recent heavy rain, swimming in the River Seine is still the plan at the Paris Olympics after a $1.

PHOENIX — Phoenix police discriminate against Black, Hispanic and Native American people, unlawfully detain homeless people and use excessive force, including unjustified deadly force, according to a sweeping federal civil rights investigation of law enforcement in the nation's fifth-largest city.

ATHENS - Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis stressed that “tourism development should be sustainable, resilient, fair, and participatory” and that “the dividend of growth should be distributed as fairly as possible throughout the country.

Enter your email address to subscribe

Provide your email address to subscribe. For e.g. [email protected]

You may unsubscribe at any time using the link in our newsletter.