Slovakia’s Government Agreed to Extend Checks on Borders

Αssociated Press

A sign written on "Attention the border is closed" stands at the closed border crossing from Austria to the Czech Republic near Reinthal, Austria, Wednesday, May 13, 2020. (AP Photo/Ronald Zak)

BRATISLAVA, Slovakia — Slovakia’s government has agreed to extend the checks on the borders with neighboring Austria, the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland until June 26.

The move comes as some other Europeans countries, including Austria, have been reopening their borders for all travelers.

Slovakia allows only limited numbers of foreigners, such as truck drivers, people with residency and those who commute to work across the border to enter the country as part of restrictive measures adopted to contain the coronavirus pandemic.

To cross the border, they need to use a limited number of border crossings. The Slovak citizens need to be quarantined at state facilities on arrival from abroad until they are tested for the virus.

Slovak Foreign Minister Ivan Korcok expects to decide by the middle of June if it reopens its borders with Austria and the Czech Republic.

Slovakia has recorded 1,496 positive cases of COVID-19 and 28 deaths.