GR US

HALC Presents Upcoming Virtual Events Focusing on History

The National Herald

The Greek Genocide in American Naval War Diaries: Naval Commanders Report and Protest Death Marches and Massacres in Turkey's Pontus Region, 1921-1922, Edited by Savvas (Sam) Koktzoglou and Robert Shenk with a foreword by retired U.S. Navy Admiral James Stavridis. (Photo: Courtesy of Sam Koktzoglou)

CHICAGO – The Hellenic American Leadership Council (HALC) continues its series of fascinating virtual events over the next few weeks. The live discussions include the Pontian Greek Genocide on May 19, the book The League of Wives on May 25, and the Fall of Constantinople on May 29, and all will be available on HALC’s main Facebook page: www.facebook.com/HellenicLeaders.

On Tuesday, May 19, 12 PM EST / 11 AM CST HALC presents The Greek Genocide in American Naval War Diaries, commemorating the Pontian Greek Genocide with Robert Shenk and Sam Koktzoglou, the editors of the new book The Greek Genocide in American Naval War Diaries: Naval Commanders Report and Protest Death Marches and Massacres in Turkey's Pontus Region, 1921-1922.

The virtual events continue on Monday, May 25, 12 PM EST / 11 AM CST with The League of Wives: Discussion with award-winning author Heath Hardage Lee on Memorial Day to discuss her book The League of Wives, the true story of a group of women who took on the U.S. government to bring their POW/MIA husbands home from Vietnam. The conversation will be moderated by Vanessa Kamberis, a graduate of HALC's Nikos Mouyiaris Leadership 2030 Fellowship Program.

On Friday, May 29, 11:30 AM EST / 10:30 AM CST HALC presents 1453: The Fall of Constantiople with author and historian Roger Crowley, the author of the book 1453, who will discuss the events leading up to fall of Constantinople, the siege, and the historical legacy of this event that marked the end of the Byzantine Empire.

More information is available on Facebook: www.facebook.com/HellenicLeaders.