Sarbanes and All House Democrats Co-Sponsor H.R. 1, the For the People Act

The National Herald Archive

U.S. Representative John Sarbanes (D-Maryland).

WASHINGTON, DC – Democracy Reform Task Force Chair Rep. John Sarbanes (D-MD) on February 22 announced that all House Democrats have once again co-sponsored H.R. 1, the For the People Act of 2021, a historic effort to protect and expand voting rights, clean up corruption in Washington, empower the American people and restore faith and integrity in government.

“House Democrats are united in our steadfast commitment to advance transformational anti-corruption and clean election reforms by swiftly passing H.R. 1,” said Congressman Sarbanes. “Our historic reform effort will end decades of dysfunction in Washington, return power to the people and build a more just, equitable and prosperous country for all Americans.”

House Democrats recently announced that H.R. 1 would be considered on the floor of the U.S. House of Representatives during the first week in March.

Sarbanes is joined by his fellow Greek-American Democrats in the House, Rep. Dina Titus and Rep. Chris Pappas, as well as Philhellene Rep. Carolyn Maloney among the co-sponsors of the bill. 

The full list of co-sponsors is available online: