GR US

THI Talks with Athens Mayor Kostas Bakoyannis on July 8

The National Herald

Athens Mayor Kostas Bakoyannis will discuss leadership in the time of COVID-19. (Photo: Courtesy of The Hellenic Initiative)

ATHENS – The Hellenic Initiative Digital Speaker Series Live continues on Wednesday, July 8, 12 PM EDT, 5 PM London, 2 AM Sydney, and 7 PM Athens time, with Athens Mayor Kostas Bakoyannis on Leadership in the Time of COVID-19.

During the lockdown, under the leadership of Mayor Bakoyannis, the city of Athens embarked on an ambitious plan to pave streets, plant trees, clean and fix city squares, replace old pipes, and remove graffiti. His latest efforts include the creation of a Grand Walk that will further pedestrianize parts of downtown Athens and continue to green the city.

The discussion will take place via Zoom and Facebook Live. Registration for this free event is available on Eventbrite: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/thi-digital-speaker-series-with-mayor-kostas-bakoyannis-of-athens-tickets-112189704426.

Please note that only the hosts and panelists will be seen by video. Attendees will be able to ask questions using the Q&A and/or Chat functions.

Mayor Bakoyannis previously served as Governor of Central Greece from 2014 to 2019 and as Mayor of Karpenissi, from 2011 to 2014. Βorn in 1978 in Athens, he graduated from Millfield School (UK)  in 1996 before attending Brown University to study History and International Relations. He continued with postgraduate studies in Public Policy, with a specialization in Macroeconomics, at Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government. He holds a PhD in Political Science and International Relations from the University of Oxford (2019). He has worked at the Greek Ministry of Foreign Affairs and as executive manager in an Investor Relations and Corporate Communications company in Athens and has held positions in the European Parliament in Brussels and the World Bank in Kosovo. He is the vice president of the Hellenic Agency for Local Development and Local Government, a council member of the European Council on Foreign Relations and a Greek Leadership Council member of the United Nations Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN).

More information is available on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheHellenicInitiative/live/.