Albany AHEPA Chapter 140 Awards Local Scholarships

September 12, 2020

ALBANY — On August 30, following services at the Church of St. Sophia in Albany, NY, the scholarship committee of AHEPA Chapter 140 awarded scholarships to five college students: Nicholas Kalogridis attending Hudson Valley Community College, Alexander Melas attending SUNY Albany, Christo Melas attending Siena College, Christopher Moutopoulos attending Russell Sage College, and Nicholas Moutopoulos attending Babson College.

The AHEPA Scholarship Award is given to an active Sons of Pericles college student who demonstrates academic achievement and community service. To honor the founder of this award, the Order of AHEPA Chapter No. 140 has renamed the scholarship award the Arthur P. Takes AHEPA Scholarship Award.

Arthur P. Takes was initiated into Albany Chapter No. 140, of the Order of AHEPA in 1946, and was elected Chapter President in 1949. Over the years, he was a dedicated and loyal Ahepan, holding many chapter offices and serving on various important committees. In 1983 he was awarded Ahepan of the Year. He offered the original motion establishing the Sons of Pericles AHEPA Scholarship in 2000 and served as chairman of the committee until his death.

In September 2006, shortly after his death, the members of AHEPA Chapter 140 voted to name the scholarship the Arthur P. Takes AHEPA Scholarship. May God rest his soul and may his memory be eternal. Arthur will forever be in our memories. Education is deeply embodied in the identity and mission of the Order of AHEPA and since the inception of the scholarship this chapter has awarded thousands of dollars to worthy college bound students.


Top Stories


A pregnant woman was driving in the HOV lane near Dallas.

General News

FALMOUTH, MA – The police in Falmouth have identified the victim in an accident involving a car plunging into the ocean on February 20, NBC10 Boston reported.

General News

NEW YORK – Meropi Kyriacou, the new Principal of The Cathedral School in Manhattan, was honored as The National Herald’s Educator of the Year.


Enter your email address to subscribe

Provide your email address to subscribe. For e.g. [email protected]

You may unsubscribe at any time using the link in our newsletter.